jump to navigation

A Contribution August 6, 2007

Posted by live2cook in Breakfast, Recycle.
trackback

Meeta of what’s for lunch Honey invited us through her Monthly Mingle for a chat about saving the earth from pollutions and the way we contribute to save our environment. I am writing in this post about my small contribution towards the concept.

When I conceived my son, along with all other questions, the question about diapering the baby also came up. Though we have disposable diapers in Indian cities, most of the families in my town still use pieces of cloth to diaper their children. All of my nieces and nephews were brought up that way. Since I am the first person in the family to deliver a baby in a foreign country, choosing the way to diaper my baby was a debate. Both my parents and in-laws requested me not to “Tie paper on the baby’s bottom”. The weather and the insufficient space conditions of the place we lived, put me in dilemma that I wanted to postpone the decision till the baby was born.

During my second trimester, we visited my brother-in-laws house. My Co-sister introduced me to the world of cloth diapers. Since it seemed similar to what I was used to, I decided to diaper my baby with cloth diapers. She taught me how to sew cloth diapers and helped me with fabrics and other necessities to start with. She sewed and bought dozens of diapers to reduce my sewing efforts initially. The decision to diaper my baby with cloth diapers was made there.

The first few months usage of cloth diapers taught me a lot which helped me to design diapers for our need and way of living. Since I didn’t have time to wait for the laundry in the apartments, I hand washed and air dried the diapers. It was nearly 2 1/2 years of efforts. We brought up our son in cloth diapers until he was completely potty trained. We used disposables only during long trips.

We are so happy that the diaper waste from our family to the landfill was very less. One might think how much landfill a baby could generate. The fact is, in 2 1/2 years a baby uses 7000 – 10,000 diapers on an average!!!

Here are some pictures of the diapers and pull ups that are sewed by me.

Diapers:

diapers_unfolded

diapers_folded

Pull-ups:

Pull ups

The Dish I am presenting for the Online Potluck is : Tangy Oats

Ingredients:

1 cup Old fashioned Oats
2 cups Water
1/2 teaspoon Sambar powder
2 Red chillies
1 tablespoon Peanuts
3 teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoon Oil
1/2 teaspoon Chana dal
1/2 teaspoon Urad dal
1/4 teaspoon Mustard seeds
1/4 teaspoon Sugar or Jaggery
1 pinch Asafetida
Few Curry Leaves
Lime sized ball of Tamarind

Method:

1. Soak the Tamarind in 2 cups of water until soft. Squeeze well and extract the water. Discard the residue.
2. Heat the oil in a pan and add Mustard seeds, curry leaves, red chilli and Asafetida.
3. When the Mustard seeds splutter, add the dals and peanut
4. Fry until the dal and peanuts turn golden brown.
5. Add the tamarind water and mix in salt, sambar powder and Jaggery.
6. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and allow to boil for 5 minutes.
7. Add the Oats to the tamarind water while stirring continuously.
8. Cook until the oats is done and absorbed all the liquid.

Tangy Oats

Comments»

1. roopa - August 7, 2007

i should say you have done a great job! i also used cloth diapers but never attempt to stitch them!

2. Asha - August 7, 2007

Used store bought diapers all the way!:(
Oats looks like Puliyodarai, yum!!

3. Meeta - August 10, 2007

WOW! Kudos to your incredible efforts. I must say it is really admirable what you have done. Although I used store bought diapers I am in awe of people like you who make this effort.
Hugs to you!

4. Latha - August 13, 2007

great job, Priya! I used cloth diapers for my son only for 3 months under my mom’s strict supervision (coz i delivered in India). Even now my mom is unhappy that i tie this ‘bulky napkin’ on him so during our visit home (twice after his birth) he’s allowed to run naked (except during night and outings) and she gladly cleans up the mess. It’d be very kind if you taught us how these beautiful diapers were sewn.

5. Poonam - August 13, 2007

Hi Priya, It my first time on your blog! Your efforts towards reducing waste are really commendable. Nice recipe too!

6. Rachna - August 14, 2007

yeah yur efforts with the diapers is what has brought me here from the earthly roundup… hats off to your effort really…. wow

7. D - May 28, 2008

Can u please let me know how to sew cloth diapers?

8. live2cook - May 28, 2008

Hi D,

I learnt most of the process from my Sister-in-law and the website below.

http://www.diapersewing.com/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

