jump to navigation

Crockpot Manipuri Khichdi(Rice Pudding of Manipur, India) June 14, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Rice preperations, slow cooker recipes.
Tags:
trackback

I started thinking about the Seven sister states of India when Bhags announced the event RCI – North East India. I tried very hard to recall something about North East India. All I could recall was my Geography teacher reducing 2 points from my total points for my map locating skills. She asked us to point Manipur and Nagaland with their State capitals in the Map of India. I located them and used two different colored markers to differentiate the States and their Capitals. Unfortunately, the marker that I used on the small map provided for marking the capitals was frayed that Imphal (Capital of Manipur) took some of the territorial regions of Nagaland! :)

Well! To be honest, I knew absolutely nothing about these states and I thank Bhags and Lakshmi for providing me an opportunity to explore them. After looking at the different links provided in the Event Announcement post, I decided to try couple of recipes from Anthony’s Blog. I prepared his “Manipuri Khichdi” in my recent toy – Crockpot or Slow cooker.

After some success with “Slow cooker Venn Pongal”, I was confident that this khichdi will turnout well in slow cooker and it did. I served it with Manipuri Ootti. But for the ease of categorizing, I am posting it as a seperate post. So, stay tuned! :)

Ingredients:

1 Cup Brown Basmati Rice
1/3 Cup Toor Dhal
1/3 cup Chopped onions
4 Tbsp Peanuts
2 Tbsp Ghee or Clarified Butter
1 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Cumin seeds
3 Cardamoms
3 Cloves
2 Bayleaves
2 Dried Red chilli
1 Clove Garlic (minced)
1/4 inch piece of Ginger (minced)
1 pinch Turmeric powder

Method:

1. Heat ghee in a medium sized pan.
2. Add Cumin seeds and when they turn brown, add other spices along with chopped onions.
3. when the onions are translucent, add minced garlic and ginger.
4. In a 5 quart Slow cooker insert, add the rice, dhal and fried onion mixture.
5. Add salt and turmeric powder. Pour 2 cups of water.
6. Cover and cook for 6-8 hours.
7. In a small pan heat a tsp of ghee or oil and fry the peanuts until golden brown. Mix with the cooked Khichdi and serve hot.

Manipuri Kichidi

askfirstviolet57

Comments»

1. bhags - June 14, 2008

I remember those map markings and my geography teacher reducing all my marks for my dirty maps………nice recipe, thanks for the wonderful recipe

2. Uma - June 14, 2008

delicious kichidi

3. Aparna - June 25, 2008

Discovered your blog at Bhags’s roundup. I cooked up the same thing, and from Anthony’s blog!

4. Paramananda Chabungbam - June 3, 2010

Sorry to say that manipuri khichdi doesn’t look like this (as in the picture above). I’m a Manipuri from Imphal, Manipur :-) But I appreciate you effort and interest.

live2cook - December 4, 2010

Hi Paramananda Chabungbam,

Thank you for visiting. I will be happy to know the way it is done in Manipur.

For my family, if you call ‘Khichdi’ it should be creamy and not chewy. :)

5. Hayden - March 30, 2013

I constantly spent my half an hour to read this website’s content every day along with a cup of coffee.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

