jump to navigation

Coconut Series III – A Soup – Solkadi June 25, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Coconut Series, Sauces and Gravies.
Tags:
trackback

Coconut and Cholesterol.

I haven’t thought much about the relationship between these two until I came to US. When I read about the fat facts, sometimes I even worried that we are used to too much of coconut. But, when I look at the fact that my grandma lived a very healthy life until her 86 years and had raised her kids healthy, I see the conscious cooking style she followed.

If we look into the way she used coconuts in her recipes, we can find that she never used coconuts in its dried form as we do in US. Dried coconuts were sent to the oil mill for extracting coconut oil. She always used freshly shredded coconut and made sure to process the coconut as little as possible. Coconut in its most processed form has the highest content of saturated fat and cholesterol. She taught me the tact for ensuring minimum processing of coconut. It was to add coconut only at the end while preparing a recipe. Following her footsteps, I like recipes that use coconuts in its least processed form and no wonder I liked Nupur’s recipe for “Solkadi”.

There are three reasons for that.

  • I can use fresh coconut milk
  • No cooking involved
  • Requires very few ingredients

When I served this soup with rice to my kid, he exclaimed the dinner was yummy and made my day by making a happy bowl without much efforts on my part. So there is yet another reason for my love for this recipe. :)

Ingredients:

1/4 cup Kokum
1 1/2 cups Fresh Coconut milk
4 tbsp chopped cilantro, divided
3-4 green chillies, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp Black pepper corns, coarsely pounded
Salt to taste

*** I added the following two ingredients as I was introducing new tastes to my kid’s diet. It is a practice of my Mom to add digestive aids in food while introducing new taste to kids.

1/4 inch piece of ginger, crushed
1/4 tsp cumin

Method:

1. Soak the Kokum in hot water for an hour. Crush with hands and drain the liquid in a mixing bowl. Discard the pulp.
2. In a glass jar with lid, add the kokum water, coconut milk and other ingredients.
3. Cover with the lid and shake well until the kokum water and coconut milk mix well and the mixture turns pale.
4. Leave covered in refrigerator overnight. (Refrigeration helps in bringing out the flavors)
5. Before serving, drain and garnish with Cilantro.

I used empty planters peanut jar for this. I served solkadi with rice and “Paruppu usili” (A dhal preparation) as side dish.

solkadi

This is my entry for Zlamushka’s Tried and tested Event, featuring Nupur’s recipes. I am presenting this to AFAM event hosted by the “1-in-3 queen”, Suganya. This is the first one among the three and we will see the other two in following posts. But, I am wondering whether the queen will accept 3 entries from 1 blog… Do you Suganya?

Comments»

1. Asha - June 25, 2008

I was reading about Solkadhi in a cookbook last night!

My grandparents from dad’s side cooked with coconut everyday and still do! It’s all in the mind I guess. I know some British people who eat Fish and Chips every single day and live long while they scare us who ate once in 2 weeks or so how fatty it is! :D

SolKadhi looks great, never tried it.

2. Suganya - June 25, 2008

Since you have *crowned me as a queen, I will grant you the wish, Priya :D. Seriously, why wouldn’t I?

3. Nupur - July 3, 2008

Thanks for trying the solkadi, Priya! The fact that your child liked it just makes my day :)

4. Zlamushka - July 6, 2008

Hi Priya,
Thanks for participating T&T this month. I have been quite busy these days, so am a bit late with the round-up. The soup looks wonderful, a good choice for kiddos. I hope to see you in July┬┤s edition.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

