jump to navigation

Hot and Spicy Avacado Sauce July 21, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Sauces and Gravies.
Tags:
trackback

“Shall we buy Avocado?”, asked DH.

“For What?”, asked me as it was not in our weekly grocery list.

“It makes a nice face pack”, replied him.

“Arrrrrrrrgh!!!”, said me. :)

Thanks to the Indian Beauty parlors for men, my DH has some knowledge and liking for herbal beauty tips!!! “Maintaining skin health is for everyone”, is his point. Though I agree with that, I am not a fan of wasting good food items like this. So, I will always stop him from buying avocado for face pack and stuff. In fact, I will let him turn towards avocado, if and only if my weekly grocery list has avocado in it for the week ahead menu. ;)

But, during last week’s visit to grocery store, I gave myself up to the beauty of the green and smooth skinned Mexican avocado, even though I didn’t have any plans for it. The avocado was huge and looked like a small papaya. Without a second thought, I bought it.

Since, I had different plans for the week end meals, the avocado sat in the fridge, untouched. DH’s eyes was hawking the avocado and reminding me that it might turn into a face pack anytime. How come I let him pamper with some herbal treatment and become the “Mister Universe”? ;)

I hurried and searched for some way to turn the avocado into some recipe. I got some idea for avocado sauce and whipped up one with the ingredients that I had in hand.

Ingredients:

2 cups avocado (Pitted, peeled and chopped)
1/2 cup Plain yogurt (Homemade or store bought)
2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning (If not in hand, blend together basil, oregano, parsley flakes, sage, rosemary)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp Sugar
2-3 JalapeƱo or other hot peppers (Chopped)

Method:

Take all the ingredients in a blender and grind into smooth puree. Adjust salt to taste. Serve as dipping sauce or toss with some cooked pasta and serve.

Spicy Avocado Sauce

Spicy Avocado Sauce

I served it with some homemade dumplings for brunch. The sauce was different and we liked the brunch menu a lot. This sauce gets its unique place in my recipe collection as it was a nice variation for the usual tomato or milk based sauces. This is my entry for the AFAM – Avocado event hosted by Archana.

Comments»

1. rachel - July 21, 2008

Hehe..the saved avocado into this yummy sauce :)

2. bhags - July 22, 2008

tht it makes a good face pack is news to me…..thanks to DH…..tell him i am going to try it…..:P

3. ranji - July 22, 2008

wow..this avocado sauce is so smooth and nice….must be so great as dipping sauce with chips as well..looks good..nice entry.

4. usha - July 22, 2008

looks really good :)

5. AFAM(A Fruit of the Month) - AVOCADO | Archana's Kitchen - August 1, 2008

[…] of Live to Cook presents Hot and spicy avocado sauce A very different will surely get its unique place your recipe collection as it was a nice variation […]

6. zlamushka - August 4, 2008

looks fantastic, i loooove guacamole. anyt kind, any taste. interestign italian kick :-)

7. Martine - June 4, 2012

I just made this sauce and it was delicious, thank you!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

