jump to navigation

Onion spiced cloverleaf rolls July 27, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Oven baked Breads and Rolls, Sour dough.
Tags:
trackback

The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach“, Right??!!

I don’t know how much truth it holds. But, most of the families in my home town strongly believe in this saying. Apart from training the girls for household chores, we can see the importance that they give for this saying, in marriages. From the betrothal ceremony to Marriage dinner, the elders of the bride will observe the bridegroom for his tastes and manners. They will keep informing the bride about their findings with the thought that it might help her while starting the family life. I would say these are the charms of arranged marriage. :)

Mine was an arranged marriage too. My aunts and sisters were waiting for the opportunity to help me with their thoughts and findings. After 3+ years of life in US, my groom was visiting India and it was his first vacation. While attending various feasts and ceremonies was the norm for the grooms, my groom was quite different. He was in the search of famous restaurants and fast foods in and around the town. He was inquiring about those with every one he spoke to. Whenever he got a chance, he managed to devour the food in those restaurants and gave no chance to my aunts to figure out his favorite taste. The kind aunts thought not to disappoint me. So they came and told me that I was lucky as there was no need to toil in the kitchen that my groom loved restaurant foods. :)

My parents believed in healthy homemade meals and the groom’s longing for restaurant food made them worry. While my mom worried about the groom’s piggish food habits, my dad prayed to god that all the restaurant chefs be males that no other woman could find her way to the groom’s heart before his daughter could. ;)

After marriage, we spent couple of weeks in Bangalore at my in-laws place before flying back to US. My DH maintained a complete schedule and visited his favorite restaurants. Though I was new to eating out on everyday basis, I loved those restaurant meals too. I flew to US with big dreams and the varied restaurant foods were one among them. Did those dreams come true? Nope! My DH had appetite for those meals that were hardly available in US restaurants. His appetite yielded a lot to my cooking skills and paved the way to this blog and my claim that “I live to cook“. :)

Today, I am going to talk about one of his favorites, “SV Bakery’s Khara Bun“. It is onion spiced rolls that is eaten as snack in Bangalore. Though they are shaped as ordinary dinner rolls or burger buns, I used to shape this as cloverleaf rolls. They look cute and more presentable in a party or potluck.

Ingredients:

3 Cups all purpose flour ( we can use mix of both, whole wheat flour and All purpose flour)
1 Cup Active Sourdough starter (or 1 tsp of dry yeast)
1 Cup Chopped onion
1/3 Cup oil
1 Tbsp ground flax seeds mixed with 3 Tbsp water (or use 1 large egg)
2 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp salt
1 tsp Sugar if using dry yeast
1/2 tsp Garam masala
1/2 tsp Amchur
3-4 Green chilies chopped
Water for kneading the dough

Method:

1. Heat a tablespoon of oil in a medium saucepan. Add the cumin seeds. When they splutter, add the chopped onion and green chilies. Saute until the onion is well browned.
2. Mix the flour, sourdough starter, oil, salt, sugar, flax mixture,garam masala, amchur and the onion mixture. Knead into smooth and elastic dough using 2 tbsp water at a time.
3. Cover and place in a warm and draft free place until doubled in volume.
4. Punch down and shape into 36 walnut sized balls.
5. Grease a muffin tray and place 3 balls per muffin cup.

Cloverleaf rolls dough - ready for baking

Cloverleaf rolls dough - ready for baking


6. Cover and allow to rise beyond the rim of the muffin cups.
7. Preheat the oven for 350F and bake for 45 minutes or until the rolls are browned well.

Cloverleaf rolls - View from Top

Cloverleaf rolls - View from the Top

Well! Did I find the way to my DH’s heart? With the exposure to so many cuisines in US, I would say it is pretty loooooooooong way and will take a life time, I guess. ;)

Cloverleaf rolls - view from Side

Cloverleaf rolls - view from the Side

This is my entry for Zorra’s Bread Baking Day event hosted by Aparna with the theme Small Breads and Susan – the wild yeast’s ;) Yeast Spotting.

Comments»

1. Siri - July 27, 2008

Wow they look so yummmy!!! :D

Siri

2. arundathi - July 27, 2008

that is brilliant to bake the rolls in a muffin pan – and i completely understand the obsession with the SV bakery buns – I love them too!! this looks great!!

3. rachel - July 27, 2008

A nice read….and the muffin trays serve so many purposes other than a muffin right…your buns are nicely browned….

4. sushma - July 28, 2008

That i such an creative idea.. looks nice with that shape.

5. Fearless Kitchen - July 28, 2008

This looks great. I really like how you’ve shaped the rolls, and the flavors you’ve used look wonderful!

6. Bhawana - July 28, 2008

Priya nice story :). A bit similer to mine. I too started my blog bcoz of my hubby’s eating habits. he loves to eat out while I avoid most of the times. So I thought better to learn different things at home so that I can pull him to eat at home only :)). Now we go rarely to eat out generally for celebrating few occasions :). Soon I will try baking. This looks amazing making such muffin, really urs looking very tasty.

7. sra - July 28, 2008

Reading about your parents’ concerns was funny :)

8. Susan/Wild Yeast - July 30, 2008

Very cute cloverleaf shape! I had to look up amchur — maybe I can find it around here. The flavors sound wonderful.

9. Madam Chow - August 1, 2008

I loved your story, and the rolls! I’m so glad I was able to find your blog through Susan’s YeastSpotting.

10. Lillian Jones - December 2, 2010

Just keep making good stuff.

11. Douglas Culbreath - December 4, 2010

I saw something about this topic on TV last night. Great post.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

