jump to navigation

Obedient plant! May 4, 2007

Posted by live2cook in Egg free, out of the griddle, What we call it....
trackback

No..No! I am not certifying any plant. It is the name of a plant. It is widely known as “Arrow root”. Manufacturers use the rhizome of obedience plant to prepare Arrow Root Powder.

Why it gained a place in my pantry? Keep Reading…

In our household, eggs are never an ingredient. Hence, It is my practice to look for egg free recipes or convert recipes with eggs to egg free. I tried a few recipes and understood it is very difficult to get the texture and look of the recipe with eggs.

French Crepes are one among those. The batter has nothing but flour, eggs, salt and milk . I tried to replace the eggs in different ways. But the end result didn’t resemble the ones in cook books.

one day, an unusual ingredient that I added to the batter, gave the texture I was looking for. And that ingredient was Arrow root powder.

Arrow root powder is not a common item in a pantry. I bought the powder when my son got diarrhea. In my home town,
it is considered that arrow root powder helps in controlling diarrhea. (we can find arrow root powder in any Indian/Asian grocery).

Arrow root powder was used in the batter and the recipe I followed is:

1 Cup All Purpose Flour
1 Cup Arrow Root Powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 pinch Nutmeg powder
1 cup milk.

Mix all the ingredients into a smooth batter without lumps. Spread the batter in a hot griddle and cook the side till golden brown. Flip and cook the other side also.

crepe

Normally, they tilt the pan to spread the batter. But the arrow root powder cooks so fast that we are unable to spread the batter. It is easier to spread it like Indian dosa.

The recipe was intended for later posts. But the starting alphabet of this post got me to post it now. Yup! This is my another entry for “O of Vegetables”. Though We are not talking about the recipe of India in this post, I think the recipe has all the features to be named as “Instant Maida Dosa”. 😉

Comments»

1. Nupur - May 5, 2007

Very clever entry! Thanks so much for sending it in. I remember being given these “arrowroot biscuits” to eat when I was a kid. Arrowroot does have that “binding” property just like eggs…and those crepes look delicious.

2. asha - May 5, 2007

I use Arrowroot pd instead of Cornstarch sometimes which doesn’t give you that shine like cornstarch.Obedience plant? Never heard that name,thanks for that:)
Dosa looks good.Got to try.

3. bee - May 6, 2007

i have arrowroot, and this is the perfect way to use it. thanks for the recipe.

4. live2cook - May 9, 2007

Hi Nupur and Bee,

Thank you for visiting.

Hi asha,

Yes. Both Corn starch and Arrowroot powder can be used as binders. I used arrowroot powder in this recipe because, it cooks fast and doesn’t have any raw or uncooked smell.

Thank you for your comment.


Leave a Reply

