jump to navigation

Chakkai Varatti (Jackfruit Preserves) May 27, 2007

Posted by live2cook in Desserts, Jams and Preserves.
trackback

Chakkai varatti is Jackfruit Preserves that I used to enjoy as a kid. In my home town, we have a jackfruit tree in our backyard. Around February, the tree starts bearing fruits and around mid April the fruits start to ripe. Our summer holidays were filled with the smell of jackfruit. Sometimes, four or five fruits would ripe at the same time that, even after sharing with neighbors, we were left with plenty. My mom used to prepare chakkai varatti to use the excess fruits.

I am posting her recipe for Chakkai varatti. I am not able to find fresh jackfruit in the nearby Asian Groceries. So, I am using the canned variety.

Jackfruit

What we need:

2 cans of jackfruit ( I used 20 ounce cans)
1 cup of powdered jaggery
1/4 cup of freshly shredded coconut
1 teaspoon of cardamom powder
2 teaspoons of ghee

How to prepare:

Drain the syrup, grind the jackfruit along with the shredded coconut to a paste in a blender. Take the ground paste, mix the powdered jaggery and cardamom powder in a pan. Start cooking the mixed paste in medium flame. Keep stirring frequently. When the jackfruit paste starts leaving the sides of the pan, add ghee and continue cooking. When the paste leaves the pan and forms a ball when stirred, take off the heat and allow it to cool. Store in a sterilized jar and refrigerate. Use as a spread or serve as dessert.

Chakkai_varatti

This honey colored preserves is my entry for this month’s Jihva for Ingredients hosted by Jai and Bee.

Comments»

1. bee - May 27, 2007

looks great. thank you for participating. see you at the round up. -Jai

2. sana - May 28, 2007

I too enjoyed chakka varratti as a kid. This time, when I went back home, I got lucky as someone had dripped off some great jackfruit at my home. My mom made it for me and it was so great. Everyone else just got a taste 😉

3. santhi - May 28, 2007

hey..thats amazing…i always thought chakka varatti was so much work..!!! you have made it sound so simple..:-)…nice recipe, live2cook…:-)

4. Saj - May 28, 2007

nice recipe, I wish I could try it.

5. Sukanya - May 28, 2007

Hay this is looking so nice…Never tasted this before…I love it….Nice picture…Very simple dessert…

6. live2cook - May 29, 2007

Hi Bee, Sana,Santhi,Saj,Sukanya,

Thank you.

7. prajusha - May 30, 2007

hi
nice recipe.Good entry for JFI

8. lalitha - January 7, 2010

hi

very good recipe with good taste


Leave a Reply

