jump to navigation

Knock! Knock! Me Again!! May 24, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Breakfast, Egg free.
trackback

Well! I am Back!!

After a long break though!!! (Pretty long. I admit).

There are lots of things going on in my life. Changes…All at once….(When it rains, it Pours!! Ha! Ha!)

We moved to our new home…I changed Job…My In-Laws returned to India…The nasty Winter……and now its Spring………

Things are settling down a little bit, So, I thought it’s time to restart my travel on blog world and knock on my friends’ doors with homemade goodies!

Here we go…

Knock! Knock! me Again!!!!

Hi! I have brought Orange-Poppy seeds Muffins for you!!!!

Orange Poppy Seeds Muffin

This recipe is one among those that I wrote down while I was browsing the internet. Most of the baking recipes will be adjusted by me to suit my lifestyle. The major adjustment is replacing the eggs called for. If the recipe contains only one egg, I will skip the egg altogether and add couple of table spoons of unsweetened apple sauce. If the recipe calls for more than one egg, I will replace the eggs with Ground Flax seeds and water mixture.

Before we talk about the recipe, let me mention couple of things about flax seeds. Flax seeds are tiny seeds either brown or golden in color. They also have the name Linseeds. Next to seafoods, flax seeds has the most necessary Omega-3 fatty acids. If you have oriental super markets near by, look for these seeds under the name “Alsi seeds”. 1 tablespoon of ground flax seeds and 3 tablespoons of water mixture replaces one egg in a recipe. While grinding the seeds, do not grind along with the water. The seeds won’t grind properly. It is hard to grind a table spoon or two in a blender or spice grinder. So, powder 1/4 cup of flax seeds in a spice grinder, store it in an air tight container and refrigerate. When needed, take only the necessary amount of flax powder in a small mixing bowl. Use hot water to mix with the flax powder. whisk both until lump free and let it stand for 5 minutes or until you set up other ingredients. This resting time helps the oils in the flax seed to mix well with the water and provide a texture like glue.

Flax Mixture

The recipe with my adjustments is:

1 1/2 cups Whole wheat flour
1 cup Unbleached all purpose flour
1/3 cup Sugar (The original recipe called for 1/4 cup brown sugar. But they used Frozen orange juice concentrate which will compensate for sweetness. So I increased the amount of sugar little bit)
1/4 cup Canola oil
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/4 cup Fresh orange juice (Recipe called for Frozen orange juice concentrate)
2/3 cup non fat yogurt (I used homemade yogurt made with skim milk)
3 Tbsp Food Grade Poppy seeds ( I used the Indian white variety)
2 Tbsp Ground flax seeds (Recipe called for 2 eggs)
6 Tbsp Hot water
1 Tbsp orange zest (I zested an orange and ground the orange for the 1/4 cup juice above)
2 tsp Baking powder
2 tsp Maple syrup (optional)
1 tsp Vanilla extract

The Preparation is quite simple.

1. Grease a 12 cup Muffin Tray.
2. Mix Flours, Sugar, Poppy Seeds, baking powder in a large mixing bowl. Make a well in the center.
3. Whisk together all the wet ingredients in a mixing bowl and add to the well in the Flour mixture.
4. Fold in the flour to the wet ingredients until moistened.
5. Bake in a 350 Degrees preheated oven for 20-22 minutes.
6. Leave in pan for five minutes and remove from pan. Cool before storing.

Since there is tiny bit of citrus in there and I increased the amount of sugar, the recipe goes for the SHF Event hosted by Tartelette . she has chosen Citrus as this month’s theme.

askfirstviolet57

Comments»

1. Asha - May 26, 2008

Welcome back girl, great looking Muffin!:)

2. Tartelette - May 29, 2008

Welcome back Priya! Great recipe to start again…like sharing breakfast with an old friend.

3. live2cook - June 4, 2008

Hi Asha,

Thank you. You are always there to welcome me πŸ™‚

Hi Tartelette,

Thank you. Yes. Will share more. So keep coming πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

