jump to navigation

Awed by handmade corn tortilla May 28, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Flat and Fried Breads, out of the griddle.
Tags:
trackback

Next to Indian Cuisine, the one that serves our palette with hot and spicy food is Mexican Cuisine. When I came across the two events, DK’s A.W.E.D and Beautiful Bones, I decided upon a Recipe that can hit both birds with one stone (Unfortunately, I missed one bird but would definitely get the second). The recipe called for nearly a Dozen of corn tortillas. Awed by the price for 5 pounds of Masa Harina over the price for 6 corn tortillas, I bought the flour to get my hand on corn tortillas.
The Ingredients to make corn tortilla are very few.

2 cups of Masa Harina
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup water

I mixed the ingredients and knead into a soft dough. Took a lime sized ball of dough and started to roll with my rolling pin.

Corn Tortilla Dough

I felt like the dough was laughing at me saying “Do you think you are going to succeed using your rolling pin?”. But not much familiar with Gluten free Dough’s language, I kept trying my way. It was sticking and tearing. I was reshaping and re-rolling.

It felt like the Dough’s hand was winning until I kept aside the rolling pin and started shaping it with my hand. Like an “Attention Seeking” kid when attended to… the dough started behaving. All it needed was some warm patting with my hand. I cooked the hand shaped tortilla on hot griddle happily.

Corn Tortilla

I was awed by my handmade corn tortilla. How about you?

askfirstviolet57

Comments»

1. bee - May 28, 2008

those are really awesome.

2. Jayashree - May 29, 2008

Am totally awed…..I wanted to try my hand at these for A.W.E.D too…..but one thing led to another and I never got around to it….

3. bhags - May 29, 2008

nice recipe for the tortilla

4. Nirmala Jegadheesan - May 29, 2008

yes they were really good. Comparing the dough with a kid is awesome. Enjoyed reading this post.

5. Asha - May 29, 2008

AWED is Middle East now hosted by Siri, isn’t it? Hope I am not wrong!

Tortillas look gorgeous, love it! Nothing tastes better than homemade:)

6. live2cook - June 4, 2008

Hi Bee,Bhags,Nirmala,

Thank you.

Hi Jayashree,

Yes! If everything goes by our plan……..:)

Hi Asha,

No you are not. I missed it 😦 . Hope to meet you on A.W.E.D middle east.


Leave a Reply

