jump to navigation

When I learnt to call Roti as Flat Bread…… June 2, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Flat and Fried Breads, out of the griddle.
Tags:
trackback

“Tikkar”

When I look back and recall how I got to know about this recipe, I can realize how much I learnt from the world of Internet.

In the years past, though I was able to cook recipes of Southern India, Foods from other parts of my own country seemed alien to me. Even though I knew the English terms for the ingredients we used the most, lot of them had different market terms in US. I have a lot of fun with friends; we all hail from different parts of India and speak different languages. When it comes to food, I wish I knew all the regional languages of India. We all loved to learn different recipes from each other. But if there is an ingredient for which we didn’t know the term they used in US…Oh! You should see us! How we tried to make others understand the ingredient!! Whenever I found a friend who can speak a little bit of Tamil, all I spoke was my pantry list and asked how they call it in their language.

When this type of language barrier exists within the same countrymen, when a colleague of mine who was not familiar with Roti asked me what it was, I related it to Flat Bread. I was wondering what it was called in his country and this thought led to find more about Flat Breads from around the world. While trying to find out more, I came across Ilforno and saw the recipe for Tikkar.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup Yellow Corn meal (Recipe called for Corn flour. I couldn’t find the yellow corn flour)
1/2 cup chopped Onion
1/2 cup chopped Tomato
1 clove Garlic, minced
3-4 green chillies, chopped (optional)
2 Tbsp Cilantro, chopped
1/2 tsp salt
Water for kneading

Method:

1. If using Corn meal, Soak in 1/4 cup hot water for 1/2 hour.
2. Mix in other ingredients and knead into pliable dough.
3. Allow to rest for 30 minutes.

Tikkar Dough


4. Roll into 6 inch circles.
5. Cook in hot griddle until browned on both sides.

Tikkar

This is my another entry for “Roti Mela” hosted by Srivalli.

askfirstviolet59

Comments»

1. Srivalli - June 3, 2008

looks wonderful priya…thanks for the lovely entry!

2. arundathi - June 3, 2008

I’ve never had Tikkar – it looks really nice – thanks for the recipe!

3. Jayashree - June 3, 2008

Nice variation……the dough looks colourful…..

4. sangeeth - June 3, 2008

colourful dough as jayashree said….lovely variation

5. live2cook - June 4, 2008

Hi Srivalli,Arundhathi, Jayasree, Sangeeth,

Thank you for visiting. Keep in touch

6. Suganya - June 6, 2008

You add tomato to the dough. Interesting. I want to try that.

7. Rashmi - July 8, 2008

The dough looks so colourful and healthy!
I remember seeing a recipe for tikkar somewhere, maybe Tarla Dalal’s website and wondering how would tomato go in a roti. Thanks for showing how good it looks:)

8. sangeeta - November 17, 2008

hi, new to your blog,yellow corn flour is actually makki ka atta.

9. Abhi - February 5, 2014

Hi, how long can I store these after cooking? Will they keep well for a couple of days in the refrigerator?


Leave a Reply

