jump to navigation

Sweet Potato stuffed flat bread (Sakkaraivalli Poli) June 21, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Desserts, Flat and Fried Breads.
Tags:
trackback

In my family, “Shivrathri” is celebrated in a grand manner. For offerings, my mom used to make a sweet potato dish and was the only dish that was eaten by all who are fasting that day. On my first Shivarathri after marriage, I wanted to do the same. I had no clue that my DH did not like the sweet potato recipe. The stickiness of the recipe makes him feel it as “Yucky”. “Well! its the stickiness not the taste then”, I said to myself with a plan.

The plan was to use the sweet potato mixture as stuffing and make it as roti. It turned out very well and became one of the favorite “Poli” of the house. Either eat it as is or spread some melted butter on top, it tastes good. It is a favorite lunch box recipe for my kid. No complaints…….. 🙂

Ingredients:

For the stuffing:

2 medium sized Sweet potatoes
1/4 cup fresh coconut (shredded)
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup cashew nuts (Ground coarsely)
1 Tbsp Jaggery or Brown sugar
1/4 tsp Cardamom powder
pinch of salt

For the dough:

1 cup Whole wheat flour
1 cup All purpose flour
2 tsp Salt
2 tsp Oil
1/2 cup warm water

Method:

1. Mix the ingredients for the dough except the water.
2. Knead into a soft dough using 2 tbsp water at a time. Set aside to rest for 30 minutes.
3. Wash and Prick the sweet potatoes with a fork. Cook in Microwave in “Potato” setting or approximately 5 minutes.
4. Peel and Mash the sweet potato. Add other ingredients and mix well. Make lime sized balls.
5. Take a lime sized ball of dough. Spread into a 3 inch circle.
6. Keep the filling in the center and cover with the dough. Pinch the edges to seal.

Sweet potato filling


7. Pat and dust with flour. Roll gently into 3 inch circle.
8. Heat a griddle and place the roti. Cook on both sides until brown spots appear.

Sweet potato Stacks

sweet potato stacks 2

This is my entry for Sweet Series event hosted by Mythreyee. I would like to thank Srivalli of Roti Mela for her kind request to submit this recipe as an entry for her event.

askfirstviolet57

Comments»

1. Asha - June 21, 2008

Sweet potato is a great idea! Not much sugar needed! Looks great, plump and yummy!:))

2. Mythreyee - June 21, 2008

Sakaravalli is a wonderful idea. I second Asha. It needs no sugar I guess. I am sure it will be very filling too. Thank you for the lovely entry.

3. Srivalli - June 21, 2008

Hey those look great….what a way to make with potato!…priya..send these to my mela will you?

4. Bharti - June 21, 2008

Hi Priya
I make a version of those too. They are incredibly delicious and so good for you.

5. Priya - June 21, 2008

Never tried with sweet potato, may be its your post or someones, have seen sweet potato parathas. I have to definetly give it a try!

6. live2cook - June 25, 2008

Hi Asha,Mythreyee,Srivalli,Bharti,Priya,

Thank you.

7. sridevi - July 1, 2008

wow i love sweet potatoes must try i’ll bookmark and thanx for sharing a wonderful recipe

8. becky - June 3, 2009

A little late, but I just made these last night. I filled them with a sweet potato/cilantro mixture. They were SO tasty!


Leave a Reply

