jump to navigation

Homemade Goodness – Fresh Soymilk August 21, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Basics.
Tags:
trackback

There are a bunch of good people out there who love soy milk and who can’t live without it. But for us, it is a tough trial. Long back, I bought a carton of soy milk. I wanted to give it a try after reading all the good things about soy milk. I made a berry smoothie with it. DH took a sip and declared he was done. He was not going to try it anymore. All my trials including tying him to the chair and forcing the smoothie into his mouth through a siphon, went in vain. Though I finished that carton of soy milk that week, the bean taste that it had, didn’t inspire me to buy it again. Our soy milk drinking trials stopped there with that one carton of soy milk.

But last Saturday evening, I decided upon a mission and soaked two cups of dried soy beans. I hid it in a cabinet as I didn’t want DH to know about it.

Soaked soy beans

Soaked soy beans

Sunday morning, I woke up early and started my mission. I took the beans and enough water in the blender and blended it into a smooth paste. I added the paste to a big sauce pan and added 1 1/2 times water as of the paste. I mixed it well and set it on the stove to heat up. I let it boil until the paste mixture separated into a liquid and grainy substance.

Boiling Soymilk

Boiling Soymilk

When I poured the mixture through a sieve, DH entered the kitchen with a question, “What is mommy cat doing in the kitchen?”. “Well! milking the soy”, I smiled at him with a jar of soy milk and with joy that half of my mission was complete.

A jar of soy milk

A jar of soy milk

What happened to the other half of my mission? Well! Stay tuned for my next post. My friends, I have a secret to reveal!

Comments»

1. notyet100 - August 21, 2008

hmmm…wht hppend,,,next?….witin for the other hlf,..

2. Nirmala Jegadheesan - August 22, 2008

Awaiting u’re soy milk adventure post. and here is another dish I make out of soy. You might like it. http://passionatetrials.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?action=edit&post=180

3. Jayashree - August 22, 2008

OMG…that’s a lot of work, girl…..
Reading the first few lines of your post makes me kind of glad that I didn’t buy a carton of soy milk that I was tempted to pick up at the store today.

4. sia - August 22, 2008

ever since i had seen it at Indira’s site i wanted to make soy milk at home. i have bought dried soy beans especially for that reason but not finding any time to make it. thanks Priya for detailed instruction and i hope to make it pretty soon.
by the way, i would love to recive this as an entry for JFI. do send it across if u want.

5. shyam - August 22, 2008

cant wait! 🙂

6. Rashmi - August 22, 2008

this is just so cool..oh do post the second half soon.

7. bee - August 22, 2008

that simple? wow.


Leave a Reply

