jump to navigation

oh! “O” May 4, 2007

Posted by live2cook in out of the griddle.
trackback

For the alphabet “O”, the vegetables that are in abundance and easily available are Onion and Okra.

If I mention that the second vegetable is the day’s menu, the reaction that I get from my family would be similar to the title of this post!

The challenge of cooking is presenting the dishes in such a way that even the dislikes are turned into likings.

I took the challenge and offered my family Okra dosa. It is a recipe from the book “Samaiththu paar (cook and see)” by Meenakshi Ammal. “Vendaikkai Dosai” is the name given in the book. At first, I doubted the outcome. But, the dosa turned out well. It tasted like ghee roast without the ghee. In fact, I and my dosa didn’t even turn towards the direction the ghee jar is. šŸ™‚

The Recipe is:

1 Cup par boiled Rice ( I used Brown raw rice)
12-15 fresh or frozen whole okra.(If you have frozen and cut okra, take 3/4 cup)
3-4 Green chillies(My addition)
1/2 Cup coconut
1/4 Cup Home made yogurt (a bit sour is good)
1 pinch Asafetida(My addition)
3 Teaspoon Salt
4-5 curry leaves(My addition)

Soak the Rice for 3 hours. Drain well. Grind to a smooth paste along with okra, coconut, green chillies, asafetida and salt. Mix the yogurt and spread the batter in hot griddle. When one side turns golden brown, flip and cook the other side.

okra dosa

Did I succeed in my challenge, did I change my family’s dislikes on okra?

The answer is yup! that too with a “OOH!” reaction from the family.

Comments»

1. Nupur - May 5, 2007

Thank you, thank you for making an okra dish šŸ™‚ :)! I was afraid that my beloved okra would get no representation in the O round-up.

2. Deepa - May 6, 2007

Wow !!something totally different …I am visting ur blog for the first time …Very nice entry …

3. Nupur - May 6, 2007

Also…how amazingly innovative this dish is! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe…it is a must-try!

4. Roopa - May 6, 2007

wow nice entry and unique one too!

5. live2cook - May 9, 2007

Hi Nupur, Deepa and Roopa,

Thank you for the encouragement

6. Nupur - June 4, 2007

Hi there, just wanted to let you know that I tried making okra dosa yesterday, with kind-of mixed results šŸ™‚
On the one hand, the brown rice made it very satisfying, and the taste was excellent! Truly an off-beat dosa.
But my silly food processor did not do such a good job of grinding the rice, so the batter was grainy and did not make thin dosas- they cracked while being turned. Anyway, it tasted good and that is what matters! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

7. live2cook - June 5, 2007

Hi Nupur,

Thanks for trying out the recipe. Generally, urad dal is the binding factor in dosa batter. In Okra Dosa, Okra plays that role. There are 3 factors that needs to be considered for a non cracking dosa, First, smooth batter, second, heat of the griddle (spread the batter on low heat and then increase the heat to cook it), and the third is not over cooking the okra. When the okra in the batter gets over cooked, it loses its binding strength.


Leave a comment