jump to navigation

Tikhat Mithachi Puri May 29, 2007

Posted by live2cook in Flat and Fried Breads.
trackback

The Backbone of Indian cuisine are the variety of spices. By varying the proportions, we create tons of tastes. By mixing them with different ingredients, we produce millions of recipes.

If the recipe calls for ingredients available in my pantry, if it gives a different taste and if it introduces variety to my weekly menu, it will find a place in my collection. I will look for these kind of recipes in Books, Magazines, grocery bags, cartons, labels…..etc.

One such recipe is Tikhat Mithachi Puri. I noted down the recipe from Bawarchi Contributions. Though I did not know the meaning for the name of the recipe, I wrote it down because it called for most common ingredients.

When Nupur announced RCI – Maharashtra cuisine, this recipe came to my mind because the name sounded like Marathi. I searched the internet for the meaning. Vaishali of Happy Burp helped me with her post for “Tikhat- Mithaacha Sanja”.

From Vaishali’s post what I understood was “Tikhat Mithachi” is Marathi and means “Uppu Oraippa” in Tamil which is “Hot and savoury” in English.

So, what’s next…Post it and send it for RCI event!

What we need:

For the dough:
Whole wheat flour – 1 cup
Oil – 1 tablespoon
Ajwain seeds – 2 teaspoons
Cilantro – 1/4 cup
Red chilli powder – 1 tablespoon
Turmeric powder – 2 teaspoons
Salt – 1 teaspoon

Other ingredients:
Oil for deep frying

How to prepare:

1. Mix all the ingredients except oil for deep frying.
2. Knead to a soft dough, adding 1/4 cup water.
3. Cover and allow to rest for 15 minutes
4. Roll into 3 inch discs.
5. Heat the oil for deep frying, in a large pan until a black pepper size dough, dropped into the oil floats to the surface immediately
6. Deep fry the rolled discs one at a time until golden brown

Tikhat Mithachi Puri


Comments»

1. Nupur - May 30, 2007

This is such an iconic dish! You are so right, these puris call for common ingredients, and result in something very tasty. They are commonly packed for picnics and travel, since they keep well.

2. Asha - May 30, 2007

Looks good.I am all for teekha pooris!:))

3. Trupti - May 30, 2007

I love this stuff the next day with tea….I dunk these in tea…and savor each bite! Bliss…I tell you.

πŸ™‚

4. Manasi - May 30, 2007

Hi! These look so good!!! Typical picnic food… love them anytime…

5. mandira - June 1, 2007

oh, they looks and sound delicious. some alu bhaji will be nice with this πŸ™‚

6. live2cook - June 6, 2007

Hi Nupur, Asha, Trupti, Manasi, Mandira,

Thank you. I made this for my annual pot-luck and it was a super hit!

Mandira,

I made alu bhaji with it and was awesome. Thank you!

7. anjali - June 9, 2007

how to make alu-patal-bhaji

8. Rani - August 3, 2008

looks great, I will cook for my daughter’s lunch

9. anjali - January 23, 2009

yummmy!!! these puris look sooo good. This is my fav. snack since childhood, mom used to give me those on school picnics :-), and I still make her do those for me πŸ™‚

10. Mayank Mukund Bhandare - August 28, 2009

Ya,I loved them as they were made with the hands of my mother.She is also an expert cook and she understood the methods as soon as she read them.Aai used to give me some of these Puris on my picnics and during my cricket matches.I forced her to prepare these and really,I love them even today.Not only I,but my whole colony loves the food prepared by my mother and this was even great.-Mayank Mukund Bhandare


Leave a comment