jump to navigation

Water Chestnut July 14, 2007

Posted by live2cook in Sauces and Gravies.
trackback

I love challenges and explore new things. Nupur’s A-Z of Vegetables Event gives opportunity for both. When the week’s alphabet doesn’t have a vegetable name starting with it, the event turns more challenging and interesting. I took it as a motivation to try new things. The event turned our usual grocery purchase more interesting. For this week’s alphabet “W”, I bought “Chinese Water Chestnut“.

canned water chestnut

Water Chestnut is new to my pantry and cooking. It is used in Chinese cooking. We can add it to salads and stir fries. It has a nutty taste and texture. Even after cooking for a long time, it retained the nutty texture like that of a Coconut. I prepared two simple recipes with that.

Recipe 1: Water Chestnut Masala:

Ingredients:

1 cup of Water Chestnut
1 cup Home made yogurt
1 Onion chopped
2 Tomatoes chopped
3 teaspoons Oil
3 teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoon minced Garlic
1 teaspoon minced Ginger
1/2 teaspoon Garam masala
1/2 teaspoon Red chili powder
1/2 teaspoon Sugar

Method:

1. Boil the Water chestnut in water for 7-10 minutes. Drain and set aside.
2. Heat the oil in a pan and add the chopped onion. Fry till it turns brown.
3. Add the ginger and garlic. Cook for a minute.
4. Add tomatoes. Cook till done.
5. Add the Spice powders and salt.
6. Whisk the yogurt until smooth and mix with the tomato mixture.
7. Allow to boil. Add the cooked water chestnut and sugar.
8. Cook until the gravy thickens and serve with Roti or Steamed rice.

Water Chestnut Masala

Recipe 2 : Water chestnut Mor koottu: (water chestnut and buttermilk stew)

Ingredients:

1 cup Water chestnut
1 1/2 cups Buttermilk
1/4 cup shredded fresh Coconut
3 teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon Mustard seeds
1/2 teaspoon Urad dal
2 Green chilies
2 Dried Red chilies
1 Pinch Asafetida
2 – 3 Curry leaves

Method:

1. Cook the water chestnut in water for 7-10 minutes. Drain and keep aside.
2. Grind the Coconut, green chili and cumin to a paste.
3. Mix with buttermilk and add salt.
4. Bring to a boil and add the cooked water chestnut.
5. Simmer until the Gravy thickens. If it is took watery, make a paste of flour and water. Add to the gravy for thickening.
6. Heat oil in a small pan. Add the mustard seeds and urad dal. When the mustard seeds splutter and the dal turns golden brown, add Asafetida, Curry leaves and Red chilies.
7. Add to the gravy. Mix well and serve.

Water Chestnut Buttermilk stew

Comments»

1. Suganya - July 15, 2007

It is crunchy and soggy for my taste. I have tried this in stir-fry. Next time I shud make mor-kuzhambu. It may taste like vaazhathandu (banana stem)

2. live2cook - July 15, 2007

Hi Suganya,

Yes. You are right. Water chestnut has the taste like Banana Stem. It also has the cooling effect and Fibers like that of Banana Stem! My mom used to do “thengai potta Kari” with Vaazhathadu and Mung dal. I will try that recipe with water chestnut and share with you.

Thank you for the suggestion. 🙂

3. padmaja - July 15, 2007

I had these in some of chinese dishes but never tried
Nice simple recipe

4. saju - July 15, 2007

Yum! I was toying with the idea of using water chestnuts for Nurpur’s A-Z – I finished up cooking with Walnuts and Watercress

5. Asha - July 15, 2007

I love crunch of Water Chestnuts in Chinese food,beautiful Indian one!:))

6. priyanka - July 15, 2007

Water chestnuts are new to me. Am going to try the recipes out. Loved both the recipes- very unique and totally different.Thanks for sharing.

7. Suganya - July 15, 2007

Am happy to let you be the guinea pig l2c 🙂 Let me know how they turned out.. I am tired of waiting for banana stem.

8. Nupur - July 15, 2007

Both dishes look superb! I’ve got to try cooking with water chestnuts!

9. Suganya - July 17, 2007
10. live2cook - July 17, 2007

Hi Suganya,

I will be making “thengai potta Kari” with Water Chestnut Pretty soon and would love to be the guinea pig.

Oh! boy! Now that I have been tagged…..I got to start thinking about myself.

Hi Nupur,

Thank you.

11. barktlysf - December 3, 2010

Awesome, thanks! -barktlysf


Leave a comment