jump to navigation

Coconut Series IV – A Fried Bread – Coconut Kachori June 26, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Coconut Series, Flat and Fried Breads.
Tags:
trackback

Kachori is a concept introduced to me by a Bengali neighbor. She came to our house to introduce herself with a plateful of kachori and a side dish. I liked her as she was very friendly and liked her kachoris more as it was a new taste to me. I learned lots of recipes like this from her and she learned to make perfect dosas from me.

Back home my mom used to make fried items very occasionally as my dad would get sick after eating lots of them. We used to long for those fried goodies and we would celebrate the days like a feast. If you ask my dad about my mom, he will say all the good things about her and also would add that she does not make poori and bhajji for him. I am planning on making this Kachori for him during my next visit to India. I am sure he will celebrate this.

Ingredients:

For the dough:

1 Cup All purpose flour
1 Cup Whole wheat flour
2 tsp Salt
2 tsp Oil

For the filling:

1 Cup Freshly grated coconut
1/2 Cup Peanut (Grind Coarsely)
1 Tbsp Curry leaves (Chopped)
1 Tbsp Cilantro (Chopped)
3-4 Green chillies (Chopped) (Skip if you don’t like hot food)
Pinch of Asafetida

Others:

Oil for Deep frying

Method:

1. Mix flours, salt and oil. Knead into a stiff dough by adding 2 Tbsp water at a time.
2. Mix all the ingredients for the filling in a mixing bowl and keep aside.
3. Take a lime sized ball of dough and roll into 3 inch circle.
4. Place a Tablespoon of mixture in the center and bring the edges of the dough together. Pinch well to seal.
5. Pat carefully with hands and flatten to 2 inch disc.
6. Heat the oil for deep frying in a large Wok. Drop the prepared kachori one by one.
7. Deep fry until it turns golden brown on both sides.

Coconut Kachori

This is my second entry for AFAM event hosted by suganya and this is also the second in 1-in-3.

askfirstviolet57

Comments»

1. sridevi - July 2, 2008

wow i love kachories but this stuffing is new to me looks yummy tooo…..

2. sri - September 16, 2008

Superb kachories. But flat kachories is new to me.

3. gowri - September 16, 2008

Your kachories looks great. Flat kachories are new to me also. I think your filling combination tastes great. Thans for sharing.

4. sri - September 16, 2008

Hi flat kachories are new to me. But this kachories are look like pooris.


Leave a comment