jump to navigation

Winter melon Dessert – Dhumroot July 10, 2007

Posted by live2cook in Desserts.
trackback

Every week, we all folded our sleeves and jumped into action to prepare recipes for the most interesting event A-Z of Vegetables hosted by Nupur. With full of enthusiasm, we were riding at full speed. After a small stop, it is time to start again from the alphabet “W”. As sugar gives quick energy, Let’s start with a sweet treat, “Dhumroot“.

I first tasted “Dhumroot” in my engagement party. I liked it very much. But I could find an opportunity to find out how they made it. Day’s went and we visited India for my son’s first birthday. While me and my mother-in-law were talking about the Dessert items for the birthday party, I recalled Dhumroot and told that I am eager to watch the way they prepare it.

I learned a new dessert recipe and am happy to share with you all.

Ingredients:

2 cups Shredded Ash gourd (also called winter melon 😉 , white gourd, white pumpkin….)
1 1/2 cups Sugar
2 tablespoons Ghee or Butter
2 drops of food color (I used Yellow)
1/4 teaspoon Cardamom Powder
1/4 teaspoon of Vanilla or Pineapple or Almond Extract (Optional)

Method:

1. Heat the Ghee or Butter in a heavy bottomed pan.
2. Add the shredded Ash gourd and stir fry.
3. Cook until the gourd turns glossy. Stir frequently.
4. Add the Sugar and mix well.
5. The sugar will dissolve in the water released by ash gourd. So there is no need for any kind of liquid.
6. Reduce the heat and allow to simmer.
7. Let it simmer till all the liquid evaporates and the sugar syrup starts to form single string consistency.
8. Keep stirring every now and then.
9. Add the cardamom powder and the extract (if using) at the end.
10. Turn off the heat and store in a sterilized jar. Use as a spread or a Dessert. Decorate with toasted Cashew and other nuts if desired.

Dhumroot

Please find the wonderful picture of whole Winter melon posted by our blog friend Sailu. Thank you Sailu, for the wonderful picture.

Here’s another post about Winter melon from our friend Annita. The White colored squash in the picture is Winter melon (Ash Gourd).  Thank you Annita, for the picture and the recipe.

Comments»

1. Asha - July 10, 2007

I remember the Dumrot too!! I have never made this at home.Thanks for reminding me.Looks mouthwatering.

2. Lata - July 10, 2007

Can you post the picture of Ash Gourd if you have one? This dish sounds interesting but I can’t make out what it is exactly?

3. Deepa - July 10, 2007

wow!!!this is a excellent entry and a wonderful dessert too ….I have never tasted Dhumroot before .Thks for sharing

4. Suganya - July 10, 2007

Is this similar to Kasi Halwa?

5. saju - July 10, 2007

looks great, looks like a halwa my ma used to make

6. live2cook - July 14, 2007

Hi Asha, Lata, Deeps, Suganya, Saju,

Thank you.

Hi Lata,

I added few links to the posts with pictures of winter melon. Hope you will find them helpful.

Hi Suganya, Saju

Yes. It is similar to “Kasi Halwa”. But in Kasi Halwa, they cook the shredded winter melon in milk.

7. Nupur - July 15, 2007

Dhumroot is such an intriguing name!! You always amaze me with soemthing new 🙂


Leave a comment