jump to navigation

Yampi July 27, 2007

Posted by live2cook in Flat and Fried Breads, out of the griddle.
trackback

I love cuisines that are versatile, that allow me to play with the ingredients. I love Indian Cuisine for that matter. Any vegetable, fruit, Legume or grain, we can easily turn it into delicious food. All we need is to understand the nature of the food item that we choose, the spices that will complement it and the method that will make it presentable and palatable. Sounds challenging, huh? Yes. It is! If you have to feed the picky eaters, the process turns tough too. 🙂

I always love to take that challenge and opportunity to try new food items. When I was searching for a vegetable that starts with alphabet “Y“, for Nupur’s A-Z of Vegetables Event, I came across “Yampi“.

Yampi_cut

Yampi is a Yam variety from Jamica. I could gather only this much information from internet. I had to explore myself and find a way to use it in recipes. As I didn’t know how it will taste or its texture, I decided to cook the yampi alone. I poked small holes on the yampi with a fork and popped into microwave oven. I set it to cook on “Potato Setting” (which is approximately 3 minutes in 100% power).

The yampi started cooking and the cooking smell brought everybody at home, to kitchen. Oh! No! No! It is not that fragrant. It had a distinct odor that none of us could tolerate. It made me think that I made a mistake. My husband’s face looked like “Dinner? Forget it!”. 🙂

But, I wanted to give it a chance. So, I let it cook completely. When it cooled down to room temperature, I peeled the skin off and tasted a small bit to check whether it had the distinct odor in the starchy part too. My goodness! It didn’t! Yampi tasted like Taro and had the texture of Sweet Potato. I felt lucky and started my “exploration” vehicle with “Creativity” Fuel. Want a ride?

Travel Plan : Yampi Paratha

Travel Necessities:

2 Yampi roots, cooked and mashed
2 cups Whole Wheat flour
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup chopped Cilantro
3 teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoon Oil
1/2 teaspoon Garam Masala
1/2 teaspoon Amchur (Dry Mango Powder)
1/4 teaspoon Red chilli powder
1 pinch Asafetida
1 pinch Turmeric powder

Travel Preperation 1 : Paratha Dough

Mix the whole wheat flour, 1 teapoon salt, oil and knead to a soft dough with the help of water. Cover it with damp cloth and allow to rest for 30 minutes.

Travel Preperation 2 : Yampi Stuffing

Mix the cooked yampi, cilantro, 2 teaspoons salt, Garam masala, Amchur, Red chilli powder, Asafetida and Turmeric powder. Shape it in to lime sized balls.

Travel Guide:

1. Take a lemon sized ball of the paratha dough and pat it into 3 inch discs. Place a ball of yampi stuffing in the center and bring the edges of the dough together. Pinch well to seal.

Yampi_prepared

2. Roll the prepared ball of dough with the stuffing in to a 4-5 inch disc

Yampi_rolled

3. Heat a griddle until a small drop of water evaporates immediately. Place the rolled paratha on the hot griddle and cook until brown spots appear on both sides

Yampi_cooked

4. Serve with Simple dal or Curry and Yogurt.

Travel Experience :

The texture was like “Aloo Paratha” (Potato paratha) with the taste of taro in the place of Potato.

Comments»

1. Coffee - July 27, 2007

LOL!!!!!! Great post there L2C!!!! Very well written… and a very innovative paratha as well! 🙂

2. Cinnamon - July 27, 2007

Yampi paratha.. looks great.. must be tasting delicious too..
I have never tried to make paratha with yam stuffed.. but surely will try out soon !!!
Thanks for sharing!

3. Poonam - July 27, 2007

they look delicious!

4. Jyothi - July 27, 2007

Lovely and really innovative. Thanks for sharing.

5. bee - July 27, 2007

gorgeous colour your parathas have!! yay for yampi.

6. Asha - July 27, 2007

Never heard of Yampi but I love color in the Parathas.Must to look for it.Thanks for the intro of new veg:)

7. Dee - July 27, 2007

Love the recipe.. I havent heard of it ever…

8. Tee - July 27, 2007

I had a good time reading your post 🙂 your recipe is very creative and adventorous! 😉 I have never tasted taro before so cannot imagine the taste, but it sure does look delicious!

9. Suganya - July 27, 2007

I cannot imagine the taste. sweet potato and taro?

10. saju - July 28, 2007

yum, yampi paratha! are they sweet?

11. Nupur - July 29, 2007

Trust you to come up with something exotic! I have seen these in the stores, but was terrified by that hard leathery skin 😀 Will try this intriguing veggie for sure! Those parathas look perfectly delicious!

12. live2cook - August 4, 2007

Hi Coffee,Bee,Poonam,Dee,Asha,Jyothi,Nupur, Tee,

Thank You.

Hi Saju,

It wasn’t sweet though it had the texture of sweet potato. With Garam Masala and Red chilli powder, the paratha turned out spicy.

Hi Suganya,

Taro is called “seppenkizhangu” in Tamil. The taste of Yampi reminded me the taste of seppenkizhangu.

Hi Cinnamon,

I am sure you will love it.

13. Rick - April 15, 2008

My wife is allergic to white potatos. I discovered Yampi a few years ago, and it makes a wonderful, light and crispy french fry! Our friends and family love them, and I have to protect my wife’s supply since it is sometimes difficult to find.

14. Rick Stover - June 15, 2008

I live in NC and have a difficult time finding Yampi. Sometimes I have it shipped to me from the Farmers market in Asheville, but they rarely can get it. Does anyone know where I can order Yampi? Is it seasonal? My wife really misses her Yampi fries!

15. live2cook - June 15, 2008

Hi Rick,

I get yampi from the near by grocery chain called “Market Basket”. I don’t know other sources. Sorry.

16. william zumoval citrus packers - October 20, 2009

boil it till soft then add butter salt or garlic and olive oil like mashed potato .with topping please remember to mash it

also try malanga same way

17. william zumoval citrus packers - October 20, 2009

my warehouse in miami carries all tropical produce .

18. william zumoval citrus packers - October 20, 2009

boil it till soft then add butter salt or garlic and olive oil like mashed potato .with topping please remember to mash it

also try malanga same way my miami warehouse carries all tropical produce . we are a citrus packing house


Leave a comment