jump to navigation

Mango salsa and a pasta salad July 13, 2008

Posted by live2cook in Green Garden, Sprouts! Sprouts!, Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

I came from a country where “Cricket” is the game of craze. I landed in “Red sox Nation” with no clue about Baseball. My DH watches all the ball games with high devotion. Initially, he used to explain to me about the rules of the game. To watch the game with such craze, he thought I should know the players by name. So, during the game telecast he used to point out the players give their names. I was learning slowly. Once in a while he used to ask the name of the player who was either pitching or hitting. I perfectly named Jason Veritek for Tim Wakefield, Manny for Pedro and was giving tough time to my husband.

To put the fans in ecstasy, “Red sox” won the world series after 86 years and changed the history. There was celebrations everywhere and it was a talk in all the TV channels. My husband was watching one of the news channels where they were showing the winning shots. I was sitting in the living room browsing internet. I just lifted my head and looked at the TV and they were showing a player. My husband asked me the name of the player and I replied “Big Papi”. He was so happy that I finally named one correctly. He couldn’t believe the fact that I could recognize “Big Papi” and asked how I could recall Big Papi.. I answered,” well! there was a show in which they said he makes awesome Mango Salsa!!!”. πŸ™‚

I loved this simple recipe with refreshing ingredients. I made different versions of mango salsa but loved Elise’s recipe the most and drooled over the photo in her website. I prepared her recipe this week. I used exactly the same recipe with fewer additions.

My additions to the recipe:

1/2 cup Horse gram sprouts (I chopped it a little bit)
1/2 cup chopped Green Bell Pepper
1/2 tsp Cumin powder
1/4 tsp sugar

Mango Salsa

Mango Salsa

I served this as a side dish with a tortilla sandwich. I had some leftover mango salsa. I tossed some boiled pasta and carrots. The mango salsa turned into a refreshing pasta salad with no fancy salad dressing!

Pasta Salad with Mango Salsa

Pasta Salad with Mango Salsa

This is my entry for the “Monthly Mingle – Mango Mania” event hosted by Meeta of What’s For Lunch Honey?.

Comments»

1. Katie - July 14, 2008

Wow that looks great! Love your blog πŸ™‚


Leave a comment